Addiction – It’s a Part Time Job

My dad likes to give me a hard time about how much I use my phone. He’s even gone as far as saying I have an addiction. Of course, I defend myself and insist this is not the case (probably with my phone in my hand).

But then I read a guest post on David Snape’s blog about a man who ditched his smart phone for a hundred days… And survived. After reading it, I thought “how nice!” But immediately decided, IMPOSSIBLE! He lived. I’d die. However, I did decide to download the app BreakFree to track phone usage. Curiosity, really. Or denial.

This is hard to admit. But then again, I guess any problem is. And apparently, I have a phone addiction! Here goes:

I average four hours of use per day. Not on phone calls, but just apps or messaging. FOUR HOURS A DAY. Simple math brings that to TWENTY HOURS a week (not including weekends). That’s a part time job!!!!

It’s not like I have nothing to do. I have seven kids. I homeschool them. Laundry is an everyday ordeal, not to mention homemade meals three times a day and cleaning. But somehow, between my claims of having no time, I find four hours each day to play on my phone.

Now, because I use my smart phone as a computer, I don’t get on the actual computer unless I have to print something for school. I also use it as a camera. I blog from it. I don’t use Facebook, but apparently other things can suck the time out of your day just as easily!

So what’s to be done? I can’t just give it up. I mean, I need my phone… what about GPS??

The app has many tools for limiting phone use, including turning off message and other notifications during select do-not- disturb hours set up by the user, disabling the internet, having auto messages sent to callers during DND hours, etc.

My main issue is I actually believe I don’t have enough time in the day to do x, y and z. Obviously because of my denial of where my time does go. So it’s finding a balance between use and life   and learning that pesky little thing called time management.

So we’ll see how it goes. Admitting the problem is the first step to recovery, right?

20 responses to “Addiction – It’s a Part Time Job

Leave a Reply

