The Prestigious New Words of Oxford

Language is constantly changing. My children recently asked about Old English and if it was different than English we speak now. I said yes! In fact, it would be almost impossible to read and understand today. Of course they wanted to know how this could be if it was “still English?”

I gave the following examples: iPad. Did that word exist fifty years ago? Would someone from the past have any clue what that is? So as things change, our language changes with it. Sometimes words are not new but their meaning is added upon or changed.

But today, it was I who received a lesson in language – first from my cousin, who messaged me in shared astonishment,  then from my own research. Let me put it this way: I’m not sure whether to share with my children some of these ridiculous new words and meanings now being placed in our dictionaries, or just keep it to myself for amusement!

For example: manspreading – the term, coined by London commuters, refers to men on public transport who splay their legs wide apart and encroach on neighboring seats.

Ummm good to know! I wonder if these men can be fined for their public display of uhh, real estate?

Butt dial – when someone accidentally dials you from their pants pocket.

Waaay behind on that term! I’ve been using it for at least two years!

Cat cafe – a cafe or similar establishment where people pay to interact with cats housed on the premises.

I can’t even get upset at Oxford over this one. Seriously, people do this?! I mean I like animals as much as the next person, but to pay to pet them while eating a sandwich? I’m lost.

Fatberga very large mass of solid waste in a sewage system, consisting especially of congealed fat and personal hygiene products that have been flushed down toilets.

Because when I’m speaking to someone about such things, I want to make sure I sound educated and use the proper term.

Awesomesauce –ย  something so good it’s beyond awesome!

Mkay – another way to say or spell okay.

I’m officially embarrassed. This must be a joke!

Hangry – anger when one is hungry.

Yep. I’m embarrassed.

I’ve got a few ideas! How about kangry? When one is angry because of their kids? Or tangry? Anger over towels not being hung after use. Nkay? No, it’s NOT okay! Oxfappointment – disappointment over Oxford additions.

Or Stupidspreading – the widespread spreading of stupid “words” until they become dictionary worthy.

I’m submitting my suggestions to Oxford immediately. Be on the lookout for these genius additions next year!

12 responses to “The Prestigious New Words of Oxford

Leave a Reply

