Good Deeds

Today, as mentioned in my previous post, was our first day without Grandma. Now I must say, it wasn’t a full day alone, as she got up the kids, made breakfast, cleaned a bit and left before noon. But it felt like all day!

Anyway, I had to go to the bank and a store after naps. I was a bit apprehensive, but thankfully, I have good helpers higher on the age totem pole.

Bank was easy. Thank God for drive throughs! Wal-Mart, where I had promised to take the kids so they could blow  their allowance/birthday money (yes, I’m a glutton for pain), was another story. I strapped bitty baby to my chest, bigger baby in the child seat of the shopping cart, and the three year old I dumped in its basket. Okay! Now into the store. But just as I was about to ask my ten year old for assistance, a lady a few cars down beat me to it. She motioned for my son to come to her and help with something. I trailed directly behind.

“I have all these bags,” she began saying as she grabbed out hundreds of plastic store bags from her trunk and stuffing them into my son’s arms. “If you could take them to the recycling can in the store, I’d really appreciate you saving me that trip. It will be your good deed for the day.” My son was very polite and didn’t mind helping. I, on the other hand, was slightly annoyed. After all, I was about to ask for my son’s help.

So we took the arm loads of bags and deposited them in the recycling and went into the store.

The kids picked out their toys (which took F-O-R-E-V-E-R), and we went to pay. When it was the ten year old’s turn, he came up 39 cents short. He had added a bag of Cheetos to his purchase and didn’t have enough. I told him he’d have to put the Cheetos back. But a woman behind us quickly put down a dollar and asked that she be allowed to cover the extra. At first I refused, but she said,  “Please. It will be my good deed for the day.” Strange, right?? So I thanked her, my son thanked her, and we finished our purchase.

As we walked out of the store, I thanked him for helping that first woman. I told him there will not always be a “reward” for helping others, but this was a nice reassurance that any chance for a good deed should be taken.

2 responses to “Good Deeds

Leave a Reply

