Getting Ready for Easter Part II

Yesterday the kids all joined in to color icons for Holy Week and Pascha.  Today’s project was egg decorating.  I have dyed eggs many times in my life, as have the kids.  But this would be our first attempt at egg art. 

I went through my art supplies I had at home, then took the little three to Michael’s for the extras.  I wanted to try decorating with both hollowed and hard boiled eggs.

Hollowing an egg is pretty simple, although it will feel like you are blowing up a bunch of floaties.

1)  Insert a thumb tack, pin or needle into one end of the egg to make a small hole.  On the other end of the egg, make a hole at least three times as large.

2) Blow through the smaller hole (over a sink, or bowl if you will use the egg for baking or cooking) to force out the white and yolk of the egg.

3) After you have gotten all of the egg out of the shell, run some water gently through both ends and then blow out any remaining water/egg.

egg1

egg2

egg3

Be sure not to make the blow hole too large or the egg will crack (see the picture immediately above).  However, even with a few fractures, not all is lost 🙂

While I boiled the other eggs and got to work with my hollowed ones, my five year old busied himself with egg stuffing, both into plastic eggs and into his mouth.

David decorating

From the craft store I picked up some glossy Modge Podge glue and sealer, as well as some cheap paint brushes, some opaque gold acrylic paint, red acrylic, and some neat fabric tape.

supplies

fabric tabe

On hand, I had some scraps of fabric and some gold tissue paper.  The tissue paper I tore into manageable sized strips.

fabric

gold strips

I coated an egg in the glue and covered it with the gold strips, and then painted another thin layer of glue to make sure all was suck down well.  For another egg, I covered the egg in glue and wrapped the fabric around, scoring and adding more glue where necessary.

wrapped with fabric

I painted the remaining hollow egg with the gold acrylic and one of the hard boiled with the red acrylic.  I wrapped some of the fabric tape around two. Then I set my four little eggs out to dry 🙂

eggs drying

When my older kids came home, they got to work decorating the remainder of the hard boiled eggs.  My ten year old chose a black Sharpie for his egg.  Two eggs broke amongst the group.  My daughter chose stickers (butterflies, of course!) as her medium.

Yana decorating

Considering this is our first egg art project, I am pretty pleased with the outcome.  We have a few more days and plenty of supplies left to perfect our craft!

eggs in basket

Leave a Reply

