The Icing on the Cake

Let’s face it:  We all love dessert.  Dessert after finishing all of our broccoli is great.  Dessert for no reason is AWESOME.  But what about dessert to deliver news?

I decided a nice, homemade-with-lots-of-love cake would be the best way to tell my husband some very big news.  After all, when I planned to tell him we are expecting our sixth child, I didn’t want him to faint or die or run away!  So  for this newest bundle, I needed something extra special.

The kids knew I was making a cake for Daddy.  They didn’t know why – his birthday was two months ago.  They were curious why I was getting a “6” candle and why I needed baby pink frosting (Stores don’t carry baby blue, I discovered, but that’s okay.  I have big hopes that this will be another daughter to keep company the only other daughter in the house.).  So they watched me make the cake and frost it with the pink frosting.  They watched me assemble little baby carriages around it and put the candle in the center.  I had wanted little plastic crawling babies, but was unable to find any without going to a craft store.  Sigh.  That would have made things much easier.  Anyway, Daddy did not come home until very late, so the kids sadly had to go to bed without any cake.  I waited up for hubby.  I called him impatiently and finally he came home.

He saw something in the microwave and I casually said, “Oh, I baked you a cake.”  He opened the microwave and looked at the cake, quite confused.

“I don’t get it… the 5-year old doesn’t turn 6 for awhile…”  He kept staring at it.  “Do you think I act like I’m six?”  I burst out laughing.

“Of course!  But that’s not what the cake is for.”

“I don’t get it…”

I sighed.  I thought for sure pink frosting  and baby carriages would be a hint.  Obviously not.  “What are these?”  I asked picking up a baby carriage.

“I don’t know…”

Grr.  “They are baby carriages!”

“Okay.”  Still a blank stare!

“Really??  You don’t have any guess at all??!  Okay, we have five kids.  If we had one more, we would have….?”

“Wait.  No.  Really?  Wait.  No.  Are you telling me you’re….”

“Pregnant, yes.  With number six, hence the candle.”

“Wait.  No.  Really??  Are you serious?”  A long pause.  “Okay.  Cool!”

WOW!  That easy!  And to think I could have saved myself so much conversation had I only baked cakes the last five times!

Here is my cake:  Please don’t be harsh.  I am neither a cake decorator nor a great photographer.

pregnant with number 6

4 responses to “The Icing on the Cake

Leave a Reply

