The REAL Post – Deciphering the Language of a 3-Year Old

Forgive the previous attempt to post this… I am still figuring out how to blog from my phone 🙂

This morning my 3-year old was fixated on kids riding cyborgs. Over and over again he said, “those boys shouldn’t be riding cyborgs on the playground. We have to take them away.”

With two older brothers who love all things robots, Transformers and Legos, the fact that the word “cyborg” is in his vocabulary is only natural. However, I really was at a loss for a few minutes as to what he was trying to tell me.

Then he said, “Daddy rides a cyborg. But those boys shouldn’t ride them on the playground. We have to stop them.”

Then I remembered that a few days ago we had gone to the playground while my daughter was at soccer practice. We usually go while either she or her brother are practicing, but this time the playground was occupied by big kids on skateboards. I told my kids we would not able to play that day because of this. So I asked my 3-year old if he meant skateboards instead of cyborgs.

“Yes,” he said. But still he went on about those boys on their cyborgs!

Leave a Reply

