Wall Art

I’m sure you know where I’m headed with a title like that!

This is an old story, but one that I was reminded of the other day.

When my 3.5 year old was a newly turn 2-year old, he found a purple marker.  It was brand new and full of ink, ideal for the task at hand.

I was watching my own four (at the time) plus my sister’s two children.  The house was, to say the least, busy.  So, a little boy who had just found an irresistible purple marker, left for even a few minutes, could do a lot of damage.

I was alerted to the scribbling, of course, AFTER the fact.  He had already finished his creation when one of his very helpful older brothers informed me nonchalantly that he had colored on the walls and the stairs.

Let me be more specific.  He doodled on the walls at EACH STEP up.  He paused every few steps to try the marker out on the carpet.

Now, as I did not catch him in the act, I took a few minutes to calm down and think of what to do next.  I also took into consideration the age-appropriateness, albeit, the annoyance of his offense.

I settled on the following:

Taking my little child firmly by the hand, I went up each step and pointed to the scribble.  “No, no, NO!”  I said.  I did this to each section of the wall, or carpet, until we had gone all the way to the top of the stairs where we found the purple marker (now out of ink, of course).  “No, no, NO!”  I must have said it 20 times.

Then, my sweet child lifted up his shirt to reveal quite the purple tattoo, pointed to it and said, “No, no, NO!”

 

Leave a Reply

