You Better Get Insurance on that Kid

The other day a man came to view the hail damage done to our car.  Apparently, there have been so many claims in this part of the county, this poor guy was sent down from Pittsburgh to help with all the claims.

I pulled my car out of the garage so that he could begin his inspection.  As he climbed all over it, taking pictures every few seconds, my kids danced around watching him.  They are not shy.  In fact, the 4 and 7-year old love to entertain adults with a dozen or more questions.  They always start with those closest to home:

“Do you have any kids?”  asked the 7-year old.

“I have a one month old at home.”

“We have a baby, too.  My mom has five kids.  I want a lot of kids, too.”  The man looked up from his note-taking and said,

“Well, you don’t need to think about it now.”

I said, “Oh but he does!”  The man just stared at me.  He was wearing sunglasses so he looked completely expressionless.  But he just kept staring.  Did he think I meant my 7-year old was thinking about making babies?!  I mean, what was this guy’s problem?  So finally when I was worried that he was frozen I said, “Not now, obviously.  But he knows he wants to be a family man, and what’s wrong with that?”

The man said, “Well, you need to go to college and have fun first.  Then you can think about that.”  I turned to my 7-year old and smiled and said, “You don’t need to listen to that.”  I hope the man heard me.  I was unappreciative of his unsolicited advise.

When the claims man was all finished up, he handed me several sheets of paper on which he had printed out every single hail dent he could find.  As he was explaining how much the damages were worth and my options, he stopped in mid-sentence and started staring at the outside of the house.  I looked up from the paper and to the man, worried he might be having a seizure.  Then he just pointed… still staring… The 7-year old was climbing the bricks of our house.  O – M – G

I waved it off.  “Yeah, he thinks he is Spiderman.”

The man, still staring, said, “It looks very dangerous.” He probably wanted to ask if we have life insurance for the kids through the company, in which case he would have had us dropped immediately.

I looked at him and said, “You have a one month old.  Is it a boy or a girl?”  He said it was a boy.  I said, “I have four boys.  You are in a world of trouble if you think that is dangerous!”

3 responses to “You Better Get Insurance on that Kid

  • April

    That made me giggle. I also wanted to comment on yesterdays post and say when can we come over and see a black widow?

    • Laura

      Of course you can visit our black widows! The big one I first blogged about had an egg sack… So the ones in the flower beds must be her babies.

      • April

        It will be a while. I will be gone for a week starting the 8th. So maybe after that.

        Oh and hey I have to go out of town next week, so do you want to change the date on the Eat/craft/think or do you just want to go ahead and host without me? I just found out that I am going out of town 2 days ago, and it only just dawned on me to check the calendar to make sure i wasn’t leaving you in the lurch on anything. If we are going to change the date we need to do it soon so that we can hopefully get the word out to all that said they will go.

        Add to all that I need to somehow pull 400 dollars out of my rear sometime this week.

Leave a Reply

